Here is a list of vocabulary about British Politics;


General Election – when the adults (aged 18+) of the United Kingdom vote for the politicians that they want to represent them. A General Election is usually held once every five years. There will be one on the 7th May 2015.

Member of Parliament (MP) – the politician who represents a certain area or town. They sit in the House of Commons and vote on legislation.There are 650 MPs in the UK.

 Legislation (n) – written laws – Legislative (adj)

House of Commons – one half of the legislative  government.  The people who sit in the House of Commons (the 650 MPs) vote on laws. The people can choose who sits in this part.

House of Lords –the other half of the legislative government . The people who sit in this house are NOT voted for by the people.

Lord / Lady – these people sit in the House of Lords. They either have been awarded this title or have inherited it through their family. They are not democratically elected.

Prime Minister – the head of the UK government. They are also an MP. This is not the same as the head of state or president.

Head of State – the highest political position in the country. The head of state in the UK is Queen Elizabeth II. In countries that do not have a monarch, like the United States, the Head of State is the President. The UK does not have a president.

Referendum – when the general population vote on an issue. For example there was a referendum about whether Scotland should be independent from the UK. A person must be aged 18 or over to vote in a referendum.

Political Party – a group of politicians who believe the same ideas. In the UK the biggest political parties are the Conservatives and Labour.

Coalition – when one political party doesn’t win a majority in a General Election, two parties can team up and join together. This happened in 2010. The UK currently has a coalition government; the Conservatives and the Liberal Democrats.